About the Board of Commissioners

The corporate powers of the township are vested in a seven member Board of Commissioners that acts as the legislative branch of the government with responsibility for all policy decisions as well as annual budget approval. The Commissioners are elected, one from each ward, and serve on a part-time basis for four-year terms. Municipal elections for Commissioners are held bi-annually with an alternating four seats and three seats subject to election or re-election. The state code sets the maximum salary that Commissioners could be paid based upon township population. The Commissioners are also reimbursed for any costs that they incur out-of-pocket for township business expenses as part of their office.

The Commissioners appoint major officials such as the Township Manager, Solicitor, Engineer, Police Chief, Fire Marshal and Township Secretary. In addition, the Commissioners appoint and are assisted with policy recommendations by several advisory boards and committees. The Commissioners are also supported by the autonomous Zoning Hearing Board, pursuant to state law, in dealing with interpretation of the township’s zoning ordinances.

How to Contact Your Commissioner

Mail may be sent to the attention of the Commissioners at:
Upper Dublin Township at Commerce, 370 Commerce Drive, Fort Washington, PA 19034

Email all seven current Commissioners: commissioners@upperdublin.net

Please note that Internet email delivery is not 100% reliable.
If you are expecting a response to an email and do not get one, please contact your commissioner by phone.

Schedule of Board Meetings

Visit the Boards & Commissions page.

Call the Township receptionist, (215) 643-1600 ext "0", for current times or consult the Agenda Minutes Videos webpage.

Archived videos of Commissioner public meetings can be viewed on the Agenda Minutes Videos webpage.

Agendas, Minutes and Videos for Meetings of the Board

Agendas for upcoming meetings are available as downloads. Agendas, minutes and videos for past meetings of the Board are available as downloads under "Available Archives." Minutes are posted after they have been approved and signed.

Meeting Agendas & Minutes


Citizen Boards & Commissions


Phone And Email Directory

Ferleger (D), Meredith L.

Ward 2 (Term Expires 12/31/2025) (267) 518-3637/mferleger@upperdublin.net

Ferry (R), Liz

Ward 1 (Term Expires 12/31/2023) (215) 356-8252/lferry@upperdublin.net
Sign Up for Ward 1 Newsletter

Fritzges (D), Alyson J.

Ward 6 (Term Expires 12/31/2025) (570) 778-5246/afritzges@upperdublin.net

Knight (D), Cheryl

Ward 5 (Term Expires 12/31/2023) 215-576-1575/cknight@upperdublin.net

McGuckin (D), Robert H.

Ward 7 (Term Expires 12/31/2023) (Vice President) (215) 859-1190/rmcguckin@upperdublin.net

Scarpello (D), Gary V.

Ward 3 (Term Expires 12/31/2023) (215) 542-9267/gscarpello@upperdublin.net
View Website

Tackel (D), Ira S.

Ward 4 (Term Expires 12/31/2025) (President) (215) 628-9375/itackel@upperdublin.net

Report an Issue

Would you like to report an issue?

Call Upper Dublin Township,

at (215) 643-1600 ext. 0

Bottom Right Link