Upper Dublin Township is replacing street lighting throughout the Township with energy-efficient LEDs. The replacement began in mid-August 2017 and will continue for about two months.

The move will help the Township save in electricity costs, reduce carbon emissions and help make streets safer. LEDs can cut energy use and carbon emissions by up to 60 percent and can last years longer than traditional street lights. They also distribute light more consistently, with fewer dark spots, so streets are illuminated more evenly and less light is misdirected. LED street light costs have been dropping and efficiencies improving in recent years as the technology has become increasingly efficient.

This replacement is in part a necessity, as 30% of the Township's streetlights are a technology that was banned from production effective 2008, and, therefore, cannot be repaired nor replaced with the original technology.

The overall objectives associated with this initiative include:

  • Converting all roadway and street lights to LED technology - Underway
  • Obtaining accurate GIS data for luminaires with GPS technology - **Complete
  • Optimizing benefits of the program with improved lighting
  • Reducing energy consumption and annual costs of street lights
  • Minimizing future costs to maintain and replace the converted street lights
  • The cost of this replacement will pay for itself within 13 years through rebates and reduced energy and maintenance costs

Common LED Terms
Ten Fun Facts about LED Lights That You Probably Didn't Know

Ten Fun Facts About LED Lights
Ten Fun Facts About LED Lights
TenFunFactsAboutLED-Lights.pdf
0.1 MiB
0 Downloads
Details

Public Works Information

DETAILS

Trash & Recycling

DETAILS

Phone And Email Directory

Alessandrini, Ralph

Public Works Inspector (215) 643-1600 x3236/ralessandrini@upperdublin.net

Brown, Bernard

Acting Highway Superintendent (215) 643-1600 x3806/bbrown@upperdublin.net

Fennell, Mary Anne

Administrative Assistant (215) 643-1600 x3233/mfennell@upperdublin.net

Fountain, Tom

Township Engineer (215) 643-1600 x3372/tfountain@upperdublin.net

Fowler, Andy

Draftsperson, Surveyor, Project Manager (215) 643-1600 x3335/afowler@upperdublin.net

Frey, Craig D.

Sanitation Superintendent (215) 643-1600 x3807/sanitation@upperdublin.net

Gaul, Jerry

Foreman (215) 643-1600 x3808/jgaul@upperdublin.net

Smith, Jerry

Public Works Administrator (215) 643-1600 x3234/jsmith@upperdublin.net

Supplee, Daniel

Public Works Director (215) 643-1600 x3801/dsupplee@upperdublin.net

N/A

Motor Pool Shop (215) 643-1600 x3804/

N/A

Sign Shop /

Report an Issue

Would you like to report an issue?

Use connectUpperDublin,

our Citizen Engagement Center

CLICK HERE