Sidewalk /Cartway Obstructions

In accordance with the Township's Codification Article IV, Section 212-15 Streets (9) "Obstructions. No fences, trees, hedges, walls, plants or other obstructions shall be located or be permitted to grow in the right-of-way."

In order to accommodate pedestrian safety on sidewalks, please keep all plantings, shrubs or trees cut back to one foot (1') behind the property side edge of your sidewalk and to eight feet (8') above the sidewalk.

Numerous roadways in the Township have no curbs, or sidewalks, or curbs without sidewalks. A free and uninterrupted area is required on these roads. In order to accommodate pedestrians and vehicular traffic, the area adjoining the edge of the traveled road should be kept clear for no less than four feet (4').

Obstructions in Highway Boundaries

In accordance with the Township's Codification Article III, Section 207-11 Prohibited obstructions, "It shall be unlawful and a violation of this chapter to erect, set up, bury, place, maintain, or allow any gasoline pump, oil tank, wall, fence, pillar, electric fence, sprinkler system, or other obstruction, whether above or below ground, within the boundaries of any public highway or public right-of-way."

Site Distance Obstruction

In accordance with the Township Ordinance Section 4.04 "Obstructions to Vision at Intersections, … no growth shall be planted or maintained which shall interfere with a free and unobstructed view down and across lands located at or near the intersection of any two roads." Maintenance of shrubbery is also necessary in the vicinity of driveways.

Please keep all trees, shrubs and plantings/vegetation cut back to ensure proper site distance. Public Works Personnel will assist you in determining the necessary amount of trimming required to meet this objective.

Questions? Call the Upper Dublin Township Public Works at (215) 643-1600 ext. 3233

Public Works Information

DETAILS

Trash & Recycling

DETAILS

Phone And Email Directory

Alessandrini, Ralph

Public Works Inspector (215) 643-1600 x3236/ralessandrini@upperdublin.net

Brown, Bernard

Highway Superintendent (215) 643-1600 x3806/bbrown@upperdublin.net

Fennell, Mary Anne

Administrative Assistant (215) 643-1600 x3233/mfennell@upperdublin.net

Fountain, Thomas

Township Engineer (215) 643-1600 x3372/tfountain@upperdublin.net

Fowler, Andy

Draftsperson, Surveyor, Project Manager (215) 643-1600 x3335/afowler@upperdublin.net

Frey, Craig D.

Sanitation Superintendent (215) 643-1600 x3807/sanitation@upperdublin.net

Gaul, Jerry

Fleet & Facilities Director (215) 643-1600 x3802/jgaul@upperdublin.net

Kunkel, Christopher

Public Works Director (215) 643-1600 x3801/ckunkel@upperdublin.net

Smith, Jerry

Public Works Administrator (215) 643-1600 x3234/jsmith@upperdublin.net

N/A

Motor Pool Shop (215) 643-1600 x3804/

N/A

Sign Shop /

Report an Issue

Would you like to report an issue?

Use connectUpperDublin,

our Citizen Engagement Center

CLICK HERE